The Developmental Disability Reform Act of 1995 (DD Reform Act, 39-1801 et al) created a Community Developmental Disability Organization (CDDO) for each area of the state. Kansas currently has 27 CDDO's. The CDDO of Southeast Kansas has the responsibility to serve Cherokee, Crawford, Labette and Montgomery Counties.

A CDDO is the single point of application, eligibility determination, and referral for individuals and families to obtain services through the developmental disability system in the State of Kansas. Most direct support services available are through the Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities (I/DD) Waiver.  CDDO's determine whether an individual qualifies for services and works with the individual and/or his/her family or guardian in choosing a service provider, and refers those individuals to other community resources if additional supports are needed.

CDDO staff assists persons, families, and guardians seeking or wanting to change services/supports or service providers; assists service providers with various issues; ensures quality assurance oversight; and seeks to develop and maintain a community based service system that benefits all persons and organizations involved. Please contact the CDDO of Southeast Kansas at 877-391-4066 for information, or click on Contact Us on this page.